May 19, 2023

A simple guide to the EYFS

Sophie Allen
Sophie Allen
A simple guide to the EYFS

So, what is the EYFS?

The EYFS is a statutory framework that sets standards for the learning, development, and care of children from birth to five years old. It applies to all early years providers, including nurseries, childminders, and preschools. The EYFS aims to provide a holistic approach to learning, focusing on children's physical, emotional, and social development as well as their cognitive and academic progress.

The 7 Areas of Development

The EYFS is divided into seven areas of development, split into two categories: prime areas and specific areas. The prime areas are fundamental to children's development, and the specific areas build upon these. Let's take a closer look at each area:

Prime Areas:

  1. Communication and language: This area focuses on children's ability to express themselves and understand language. It includes listening, speaking, and understanding words and sentences.

  2. Physical development: This area is about children's physical abilities, including gross motor skills such as running and jumping and fine motor skills such as drawing and writing.

  3. Personal, social, and emotional development: This area is about children's social skills, emotional well-being, and self-confidence. It includes developing relationships, managing feelings, and understanding the world around them.

Specific Areas: 

  1. Literacy: This area focuses on reading and writing skills, including phonics, comprehension, and handwriting.

  2. Mathematics: This area includes counting, understanding shapes and space, and developing problem-solving skills.

  3. Understanding the world: This area is about children's understanding of their environment, including people, places, and technology.

  4. Expressive arts and design: This area includes children's creativity, such as music, dance, and art, and how they use materials to express themselves.

How is the EYFS curriculum delivered?

The EYFS curriculum is delivered through a play-based approach, where children learn through structured activities and free play. It is designed to be flexible, so it can be adapted to meet the needs of individual children.

The curriculum is planned and assessed through observation and assessment of children's progress, and parents are encouraged to be involved in their child's learning journey.


Join 1000's of families learning at home

Get 3 months of free access to our award-winning nursery education app.